Call Now 1.877.958.8247

South Carolina Drug Rehab

South Carolina Rehab Treatment Centers


South Carolina Drug RehabColumbia is the capital city of South Carolina, and more than 4.2 million individuals reside in this state currently. Statistics show that this state has a property crime rate of 85%, and this means that only 15% of the crimes committed were not related to property and may include violence or injury. The crime rate for South Carolina is significantly higher than the national crime rate average for the USA by 27%. The monthly average for arrests due to DUI offenses in the state is 1,650, and the average for arrests related to drug offenses are around 2,100. In South Carolina each month roughly 20 people will die from illegal drugs and overdoses, and approximately 100 people in the state will die in a typical month because of alcohol related causes.

Substance abuse is a growing problem in South Carolina, one that has devastating effects on the state. More than 38,000 residents in the state are on active probation and state prisons hold over 23,000 residents who are serving time for criminal offenses. The variety of illegal drugs available in South Carolina are numerous. Heroin use has increased substantially. This drug is very popular with young adults but heroin use crosses all age and economic levels. Cocaine in both forms can be found around the state, and crack cocaine is frequently found in heavily populated areas but can be found almost anywhere else in the state as well.

South Carolina does not have a big methamphetamine problem yet but this drug has found a foothold in the state. In recent years the number of methamphetamine seizures and the discovery of clandestine methamphetamine labs has dropped but this drug is still found in many areas. Club drugs are often used in areas where raves and club scenes are present. These drugs include ketamine and LSD as well as GHB and ecstasy.

Marijuana is the most common drug abused in South Carolina. Possession of this drug is typically a misdemeanor as long as not more than 1 ounce of the drug is found. A 1st offense possession charge can mean up to 30 days in jail and a fine between $100 and $200. A second or further marijuana possession offense in South Carolina can lead to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. If more than 1 ounce is discovered the charge is cultivation or sale of marijuana instead of simple possession, and these charges are felonies instead of misdemeanors.