Call Now 1.877.958.8247

Maine Luxury Drug Rehab Centers

Maine Rehab Treatment Centers


Maine Drug Rehab CentersThe capitol city of Maine is Augusta and this state is home to over 1.3 million people. Maine is a small state with big substance abuse problems. More than 650 individuals are arrested in the state every month for drug offenses and drugs will cause around 8 people to die in any month. The police of Maine will arrest an average of 500 people in any month for DUI and alcohol will play a role in about 31 deaths each month. There are more than 5,000 individuals on active probation and the state prisons house more than 2,000 people convicted of crimes by the court.


There are a number of drugs available to Maine residents. Law enforcement in the state views heroin and cocaine as the biggest threats but other drugs used include methamphetamine, prescription drugs, and marijuana. Statistics show that Maine has over 600 individuals who admit having a heroin addiction, and that almost 28,000 people in the state abuse some type of prescription drug. Almost 64,000 Maine residents admit to marijuana use and more than 10,000 people in the state use cocaine. Drug trafficking is a real concern for Maine because of the long coast that the state has, as well as the interstate and land based smuggling routes.


Drugs smuggled into Maine can come from many areas. Marijuana is smuggled into the state from Canada, and some of this drug may be smuggled up from Mexico through other US states as well. The marijuana brought in from Canada is usually preferred because the drug has a higher quality than the marijuana from Mexico. Methamphetamine is a small concern in Maine but this drug has not caused large scale problems in the state yet. The most commonly abused drug is marijuana and this drug is smuggled into the state in large quantities, usually between 15 pounds and 100 pounds at time.


The penalty for possession of marijuana in Maine can vary widely. If the amount possessed is considered a usable amount and a physician’s documentation is provided then there is no penalty at all. If the amount possessed is considered a usable amount, less than 2.5 ounces, and a physician’s documentation is not provided this is a civil violation and a fine between $350 and $600 is imposed. If a second offense for possession without documentation occurs within 6 months of the first offense then the minimum fine goes up to $550. Sale or cultivation of marijuana can be a misdemeanor or felony, and the sentence can range from 6 months to 10 years, and a fine may be imposed from $1,000 to $20,000.