Call Now 1.877.958.8247

Wyoming Drug Rehab

Wyoming Rehab Treatment Centers


Wyoming Drug Rehab CentersCheyenne is the capital city of Wyoming, a state in the Midwest USA with a population of more than 510,000. This is one of the least populated states in America but there are still substance abuse issues present. Roughly 250 individuals in the state of Wyoming are addicted to heroin, and prescription medication abuse affects close to 11,000 residents. Marijuana use is reported by almost 25,000 people who live in Wyoming and more than 4,000 individuals use cocaine on some basis. Most illegal drugs can be found in some amount in the state but not all drugs are widespread or available in large quantities.

In a usual month the police in Wyoming will arrest about 180 people for DUI offenses, and alcohol will play some role in 12 deaths. Drug offense arrests in Wyoming average around 262 each month, and illegal drugs will cause an average of 2.6 deaths in the state. State prisons hold close to 2,000 residents who have been convicted and sentenced for a criminal offense, and varying numbers of people will be put on probation for drug or alcohol offenses. The biggest drug of concern in Wyoming is methamphetamine, in part because of the high rate of use but also because of the extensive violence seen with the drug.

Cocaine and heroin can both be found in small amounts in Wyoming but these drugs have not seen a large increase in recent years the way that methamphetamine has. This drug has caused the rate of child abuse, domestic abuse, and violent assaults to increase significantly. Prescription drug use is also rising in Wyoming, with oxycodone and hydrocodone popular drug choices in this area. One of the most commonly used drugs in the stats is marijuana. Marijuana may be cultivated in the state or transported in from other states and foreign countries.

In Wyoming anyone caught under the influence of marijuana without possessing the drug is guilty of a misdemeanor, with up to 90 days in jail and a fine up to $100. Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor crime with the possible penalty of up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine for possessing 3 ounces or less of this drug. Marijuana possession over 3 ounces is a felony offense, and can carry up to 5 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. A second offense for any marijuana charge will carry double the original penalty, and there are mandatory minimum sentences for certain factors including possessing or selling marijuana within 500 feet of a school or other protected zone.